Karlovy Vary / Karlsbad, Czechoslovakia | 1947?

When: August 1st, 1947?
From: Karlovy Vary, Czechoslovakia
To: Horni Briza u Plzne
Found: Prague, Czech Republic
Text: “Dear Fanda, Thanks for you letter. My Christmas was good. It was really chilly here. School is ok. Tell all my friends at my old school that I said hi. I hope to see you soon.”
Note: I found this card a little sad. It is from a little boy to his friend after his family moved to a different city. He misses his friends and is letting them know that he is still thinking about them.
I believe the building featured is the Grand Hotel Pupp, which is a pretty fun name to say. It was also the inspiration for the Wes Anderson film, The Grand Hotel Budapest. We went there to get a drink but we were not fancy enough.
I am not a native speaker of Czech, so if you have a better translation, let me know.
Leave a Reply

